Shadows in Flight

By Orson Scott Card

Release Date: January 17, 2012 by Tor Books
Buy It Now

Description: Shadows in Flight is a sequel to Ender’s Game in the Shadow Series; it directly follows Shadow of the Giant. Card previously said that Shadows in Flight would be the final Ender novel, tying together the Speaker and Shadow Series. However, this is not the book fans of the series have long anticipated. Fans should not be disappointed, Card insists “This is one of the strongest, most emotional, most science-fictional novels I’ve ever written.”

“Ender’s Shadow explores the stars in this all-new novel…

At the end of Shadow of the Giant, Bean flees to the stars with three of his children–the three who share the engineered genes that gave him both hyper-intelligence and a short, cruel physical life. The time dilation granted by the speed of their travel gives Earth’s scientists generations to seek a cure, to no avail. In time, they are forgotten–a fading ansible signal speaking of events lost to Earth’s history. But the Delphikis are about to make a discovery that will let them save themselves, and perhaps all of humanity in days to come.

For there in space before them lies a derelict Formic colony ship. Aboard it, they will find both death and wonders–the life support that is failing on their own ship, room to grow, and labs in which to explore their own genetic anomaly and the mysterious disease that killed the ship’s colony.”

Orson Scott Card adds, “Now that I’ve written it [Shadows in Flight], I don’t know how I imagined I was ever going to write that final book without having written this one first!” Card also announced that Shadows Alive will be the new title of the final book which will wrap up both the Speaker and Shadow series. It does not have a release date.

Preview the Shadows in Flight Audiobook, Permission from Macmillan Audio


Book Length: According to Amazon, the hardcover version is 240 pages long.