Canon Levels

Tier 1 Canon

Materials written, co-written, or editied by Orson Scott Card


Earth Unaware (2012)
Earth Afire (2013)
Earth Awakens (2014)
The Swarm (TBA)
The Hive (TBA)
The Queens (TBA)
Ender’s War (1997)
Ender’s Game (1985)
A War of Gifts (2007)
Ender in Exile (2008)
Children of the Fleet (2017)
Speaker for the Dead (1986)
Xenocide (1991)
Children of the Mind (1996)
Ender’s Shadow (1999)
Shadow of the Hegemon (2001)
Shadow Puppets (2002)
Shadow of the Giant (2005)
Shadows in Flight (2012)
Shadows Alive (TBA)

Short Stories

Ender’s Game Novelette (1977)
Gloriously Bright Novelette (1991)
First Meetings in the Enderverse (2004)
Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show v.1 (2008)
Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show [Other] (2007)


Ender’s Game Alive: The Full-Cast Audioplay (2013)

Reference Material

Ender’s World (2013)

Tier 2 Canon

Materials written by another author, but authorized by Orson Scott Card

Comic Books

Formic Wars: Burning Earth (2011)
Formic Wars: Silent Strike (2011)
Ender’s Game Collection (2008)
Ender’s Shadow Collection (2008)
War of Gifts Collection (2009)
Ender in Exile (2010)
Gold Bug (2007)
Speaker for the Dead (2011)

Reference Material

The Authorized Ender Companion (2009)

Tier 3 Canon

Materials Orson Scott Card has not helped develop or at least not helped develop in a sizable manner


Ender’s Game Movie (2013)
// No movie sequels have been announced


//Possible First Formic War TV Series, source
//Possible Ender’s Shadow TV Series, source

Reference Material

Ender’s Game: Inside the World of an Epic Adventure (2013)
Enderverse Expansion via Online Marketing (2013) (Coming soon!)